Minggu, 29 April 2012

Australs 2012 DCAs - feedback welcomed on applicants

[On behalf of the Vic Australs Orgcomm]

Victoria University Australs 2012 had received 4 DCA applications.  The applications we have received are from:

Ely Zosa, Ateneo de Manila University;
Ravi Dutta, Monash University;
Seb Templeton, Victoria University of Wellington; and
Steph D'Souza, Sydney University

We have up to three slots remaining on the Adjudication Core.  It would be good if you can send any feedback about any of the applicants to Stephen Whittington (whittington.stephen@gmail.com) by Friday 4 May.  Please feel free to indicate whether you are supportive of having an adjudication core of 5 people, or would prefer 4.


Steve Whittington
CA, Vic Australs 2012

Rabu, 25 April 2012

Berlin Worlds registration update III

From http://berlinworlds.blogspot.com/

Phase 2 of the institutional registration process has begun. As contact person named in the registration, you should have received an email with detailed information regarding payment and adjudicator registration. Please note that you are required to open your FastRego account by May 2nd.

If you think you should have received that email but did not, please check your spam folder. If we have not reached your institution, please email our Participant Affairs Officers Dessislava and John.

As for independent adjudicators, the questionnaire you will be asked to fill in is being finalized. We should be able to start the application period within the next couple of days. It will last until June 25th.

Minggu, 22 April 2012

NALSAR Inter-Varsity Debate

NALSAR University of Law, Hyderabad successfully organised the 2nd edition of the NALSAR Inter-Varsity Debate from 5th to 8th April, 2011. The team from National Law School, Bangalore comprising Badrinarayanan Seetharaman and Sounak Sarkar emerged the champions, while Lucas Li and Ashish Kumar of University of Cambridge, United Kingdom, were declared runners-up. Vipul Nanda from National Law School, Bangalore, was adjudged the Best Speaker of the tournament, and Aditya Shetty from Sardar Patel Institute of Technology, Bombay, won the Best Adjudicator prize. The debate saw attendance of 64 teams and participants from different parts of India, Nepal, Bangladesh, Philippines, Malaysia, Singapore, Munich and the United Kingdom, making it one of the most widely attended debates in India. The final round witnessed a nail-biting finish as National Law School, Bangalore, Cambridge University, IIT Bombay and a cross team between IIT Bombay and the Technical University of Munich debated the motion, “This House believes that grave economic inequality justifies violent revolution.”

The first edition of the debate was a pioneering effort in introducing to Indian shores the format of British Parliamentary debating, the default format for parliamentary debating around the world and the style followed at the debating World Cup – the World Universities Debating Championships. The debate continues to be one of only two tournaments in India that follow this format.

The debate boasted a stellar adjudication core comprising internationally renowned debaters Sharmila Paramanand (Chief Adjudicator at the Berlin World Universities Debating Championship, 2013) and Harish Natarajan (champion of the British inter-varsity debating circuit and semi-finalist at the World Universities Debating Championship, 2010 and top 10 speaker at the World Universities Debating Championship, 2009), along with two national debating stalwarts who have made their mark in debating internationally – Aashay Sahay(Breaking debater at the Asian British Parliamentary Debating Championship and Best Adjudicator at several national tournaments) and Pranay Bhatia (Semi-Finalist and 2nd Best Speaker at Asian British Parliamentary Championship).

Vishwajith Sadananda, Convener of NALSAR’s Literary and Debating Committee, said that he was heartened by the drastic improvement in the quality of debating and the uniformly positive reviews that the debate received this year. However, he noted that the next edition of the debate could happen in October of 2012 itself, so as to serve as a preparatory ground for the Asian British Parliamentary Championship and the World Universities Debating Championship, that follow immediately after.

Rabu, 18 April 2012

2012 US UDC Results & Finals Video

Tournament Winners: UCD L&H (Christine Simpson & Michael O'Dwyer)

US National Champions: HWS (Buzz Klinger & Will McConnell)

Finalists: St. John's (Chandra & Mahajan); Yale (Dovala & Falkenstien)

VIDEO OF THE FINAL ROUND: http://vimeo.com/40593217
"THBT coming cuts in US military spending will make the world a better place."


Senin, 16 April 2012

Debate Twitter list

Having noticed that my twitter account was getting a bit swamped I spent some time over the weekend putting together a "List" of debate related Twitter accounts.  It is mainly debating societies and competitions but I'm hoping that I can use lists to better isolate the news segment I am interested in following (e.g. debating news  from friends news from Irish news etc).

The list is public so if anyone is interested in seeing who is on it and following some or all of it go to https://twitter.com/#!/colmflynn/debate

If you want to add to the list e-mail me or put a comment below.

NZ Impromptu Debating Champs results

The New Zealand Universities' Impromptu Debating Champs were held recently in Wellington.

Officers' Cup Winners: Victoria University of Wellington A (Asher Emanuel & Udayan Mukherjee)

Runners-Up: University of Auckland A (Stephanie Thompson & Ben Milsom)

Dame Cath Tizard Cup for Best Speaker: Stephanie Thompson (Auckland)

NZU Debating Team: Stephanie Thompson (Auckland) and Udayan Mukherjee (Victoria)

Reserves to the NZU Debating Team: Asher Emanuel (Victoria) and Ben Milsom (Auckland)

Highly Commended awards: Nick Gavey (Otago), Jodie O'Neill (Victoria)

Russell McVeagh Cup for Most Promising Speaker: Lucy Harrison (Auckland)

Centennial Cup for Best Adjudicator: Seb Templeton (Victoria)

Jumat, 13 April 2012

The IPPF Finals live online

LIVE From New York...
The IPPF Finals
By the end of tomorrow, there will be a new "IPPF World Champion!"

On Saturday, you can watch as the "Elite Eight" teams in the 11th Annual Bickel & Brewer/New York University International Public Policy Forum (IPPF) compete in oral debates in New York City.
Simply visit www.bickelbrewer.com/ippf to see the following events LIVE!

IPPF Finals LIVE Viewing Schedule:

Saturday, April 14
Semifinal #1 - 10:15 a.m. ET
Semifinal #2 - 11:45 p.m. ET
Final Debate - 3:30 p.m. ET
Awards Ceremony - 8 p.m. ET
During the Final Debate, you can vote online for the winning team! Your vote will help decide which team takes home the $10,000 grand prize!
The 2011-12 IPPF
"Elite Eight"

Brooklyn Technical High School
Brooklyn, New York

Lakewood High School
Lakewood, Colorado

Notre Dame High School
Sherman Oaks, California

Peak to Peak Charter School
Lafayette, Colorado

St. Mark's School of Texas
Dallas, Texas

Team Czech Republic
Prague, Czech Republic

Team Singapore

The Home Educator's Outsourcing Solution
Plano, Texas